Isn’t Spongebob a Gender Neutral Cartoon Charachter?!?

Over the weekend I was in a Rite Aid looking for a Valentine card for Ivy. I saw among the cards Spongebob and thought – perfect! Ivy loves Spongebob. Except when I picked up the card and read it it was all “A Valentine for a great son” and I was all wait, what? Kind of annoyed. Why did they have to single out this card for a boy? On further inspection of the rest of the cards, I found the “Daughter” card which featured Hello Kitty and a lot of glitter.

Now, I get it, some little girls would go bonkers over Hello Kitty. I mean Ivy even likes Hello Kitty but she loves Spongebob, and I’m sure there are little boys out there who like Hello Kitty so really, why did Hallmark (or American greetings or whoever made the dumb cards) have to single it out like that? And aside from the two cards the rest of the kid cards were just kind of dumb with some generic puppy or flowers. Needles to say I didn’t buy Ivy a card there.

And it’s not like I’m freaking out because they didn’t have a card for my daughter with, oh, I don’t know, a truck on it. I mean this is Spongebob, there is nothing about him that makes me think “Oh, Spongebob is for boys”. And, while a world that offers cards for little girls with trucks on them would be great, a world where something as unbiased as Spongebob is labeled for “boys” just makes me want to punch someone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Isn’t Spongebob a Gender Neutral Cartoon Charachter?!?

  1. TMae says:

    Card companies make me stabby. Crap like this makes me stabby. I’m doomed.

  2. I get so tired of the non-character but still boy cards. All puppies. Dumb. It’s like when I would try to buy a father’s day card for my dad who neither golfed nor fished. We need to start a rockin’ gender neutral card company.

  3. Suzanne says:

    It’s because SpongeBob wears pants. Pants are for boys. Or something equally stupid.

Leave a Reply

