An Incentive. Or Something.

For those of you who follow me on twitter, or know me in real life, you may know that I recently lost my job. That in itself is a whole deal which I probably shouldn’t blog about, but may do so in a vague way in an upcoming post. But the bottom line is, while I figure out what’s next for me, I have some time on my hands. Among the projects you can expect to hear about are: pickling stuff, making this adorable tutu that Bebehblog taught me how to do , and various cleaning projects like our damn glass cabinet that’s full of pint glasses we stole from bars when it should be full of the nice drinking glass set we got for Christmas. Don’t worry, I won’t blog that last one as that would be super bor-ring.

One thing that seems to be getting a lot of my new found extra time is my exercise routine. It is so much easier to work out at a reasonable hour of the day, to not have to get up early to do it or come home after a full day at work and have to do it. I also got this new (free) video at the grocery store from…don’t laugh…Special K (no I am NOT replacing 2 of my meals a day with cereal) which helps mix it up a little – I was getting so incredibly bored with my routine of elliptical, crunches and push ups. I’m not really dieting hardcore, so I don’t expect to drop a jean size in 2 weeks, though I do expect my eating habits to improve a bit now that I’m home, not eating lunch at my desk, or having to choose from the crappy take out options around my old office.

Another thing I’ve been doing a lot of, with all this time on my hands, is going through crap shoved in closets and drawers. We have been starting to go through our clothes to get rid of a bunch of stuff, and I found this big bag of pre-pregnancy clothes that I had put away in hopes of someday fitting into them again. While most of the stuff went into the ‘get rid of’ pile, I came across an old pair of Miss 60 skinny jeans which I loved in my pre-pregnancy days. They weren’t too “I’m in my 30’s but shopping at Forever 21 still” they were just right.

So when I came across them I was like, fuck it I’m trying them on. And, much to my amazement, I could actually zipper and button them. I will say that after about 10 minutes of prancing around the house and checking my butt out in the mirror, it was time for them to come off, so I definitely need to keep up my new exercise schedule but I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that I didn’t have to immediately throw them in the ‘get rid of’ pile. So between the desire to fit back into my favorite pair of jeans and having time on my hands, I am making a commitment to fitness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Incentive. Or Something.

  1. Suzanne says:

    I am excited to hear about pickling stuff and VERY excited to see Ivy in a tutu. When I quit/was let go while I was pregnant with Evan I was pissed for weeks – and used all that pissed off energy to paint several rooms, throw out half our stuff and learn to cook. So I understand where you’re coming from. And I think you need to do one of the Mom Style link-ups so we can see your skinny jeans!

  2. Ivy in a tutu! I can’t wait. I am trying SO hard to make 2011 the year of less stuff, but it is slow going. And yay for getting on the jeans. I have a pair that I would like to fit again. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

