The Aftermath of That Giant Snow Storm

So, it took the city 3 days to get around to plowing our block. We still haven’t actually dug out the car since alternate side parking is still suspended, but the plowing of the street brought me much relief as I noticed the shelves on our local grocery and bodega starting to get bare. But now, streets are plowed, delivery trucks can (mostly) get to where they’re going and we are….still kind of suffering from cabin fever.

Today I went out briefly on my own in the morning to…wait for it….CVS! Oh! The excitement! the filled prescription! The fun never ends. Ivy and I braved it and walked to the local grocery store, taking a very long detour along the sidewalks that were shoveled enough for me to get the stroller through. We avoided corners that we slush puddles or otherwise blocked by snow mountains and were out for almost an hour, which was nice. I was mad when I got home because today was actually a very nice day, one nice enough that we could have enjoyed sometime on the baby swings, except that they are pretty much blockaded in by snow. Sniff.

Since my internet was out for most of yesterday (this adding to the cabin fever) I didn;t get a chance to put up a wordless post, so, without further ado – some pictures of my ‘hood in the snow:

Photobucket
6th Avenue, the top of our block. Kids actually built tunnels in the snow drifts.

Photobucket
This was outside of the 99 cent store

Photobucket
Ivy hated the sled at first but then got really into it shouting “weeeee weeee!” as Jon puller her along.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Aftermath of That Giant Snow Storm

  1. TMae says:

    Woah, that’s a LOT of snow. How many inches did it wind up being?

  2. Suzanne says:

    Oh my God, I can’t even imagine that much snow in an area like Brooklyn – at least out here in suburbia there’s plenty of places to put it once you shovel or plow. And it’s crazy that you got that much from the storm that gave us *maybe* 8 inches but 8 very fine, blowy inches that all drifted away overnight.

    P.S. I love Ivy’s coat! Adorable!

Leave a Reply

