Baby It’s Cold Outside

These past few days the weather has really slapped us in the face with winter. Like BAM! It’s in the 30’s every night. Over the weekend, I had to run to the local grocery store, and thought, in order to entertain Ivy, I’d bundle her up, and we’d take a slight detour to the store to go through the park, hitting the baby swings for a few minutes. But once we got to the top of the hill (Sunset Park is the the second highest point in Brooklyn) the wind hit us and I was all Uh-uh not happening. So I basically jogged through the park to get to the grocery store and was super glad that I had a fleece blanket with me and that Ivy has finally realized that wearing a hat has its benefits.

So now that Mother Nature has decided that it will be bitterly cold prior to the Winter Solstice I am wracking my brain trying to figure out some indoor activities. I guess I could get in touch with the other moms from playgroup and see if they would be willing to host some sort of rotating indoor play dates. I suppose I could also cave and pay a zillion dollars for that expensive music class. And another parent I know in the neighborhood just recommended a place called The Little Gym which I think is like a Gymboree type deal and probably costs a million dollars too. But Damn I need to find ways that this kid can burn off energy indoors – and not necessarily indoors in our apartment!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby It’s Cold Outside

  1. TMae says:

    Seriously, what’s with the arctic air this week? Tonight it’s supposed to be 16˚F here in Virginia. Hello? THAT’S COLD. I think the high today was 30˚F.

    I’ve heard good things about The Little Gym, and we have one in town. Plus the first class is free…maybe it’s worth the money? I mean, when the alternative is toddler-induced-maternal-insanity.

Leave a Reply

