Frustrated With Our Options. Or Lack Thereof.

As I was dreaming up things for Ivy’s Christmas list which are not plastic toys or things we don’t really need, I thought of a perfect list item. Childrens music classes at a local organizations program. I’m always trying to get her to hang with other babies, and while there is playgroup in the park, since the weather has turned cold those meet ups have been few and far between. We still meet up with friends in the park here and there but I’d really like to get her involved with a group of kids on a daily basis. So I thought this would be a great solution, I mean Ivy already loves music and dancing, and a few of the moms in the playgroup recommended this particular group.

So I found their website, looked at where they have classes and was happy to see that they were in 2 close locations, and the times actually worked for my schedule. Woo-hoo! Then I looked at their prices. I was not expecting it to be cheap because nothing is cheap in NYC (well, some things are but not things you want to do with your kid). But DAMN these classes are expensive. And it’s not like you can just pay for and go to a few, oh no, you’ve got to sign up for a “term” of 10 classes. For $205. So that’s like $20 a class. Now. I love my little darling and doing stuff that she enjoys is top of my priority list but this is just beyond what we can afford.

So, that hope being dashed I decided to look for something that fits our budget a bit better. You know, free. So I looked into the Brooklyn Public Library who has a sweet program called “Brooklyn Reads to Babies” that offers story time and music time for babies and toddlers. Yes! I thought this is perfect. But no, because the events are all at times when I’m at work. I did find one that may be able to work but I’d really have to hustle home from work, and getting Ivy places “quickly” is just not that realistic.

I find this with a lot of things I’d like to do with Ivy. I was so excited when a yoga studio opened in our ‘hood and was offering mommy and me yoga. On Thursday mornings, you know, when I’m at work. It’s really frustrating to me because I feel like everything I want to get her involved in is either at a time that is unrealistic for either my husband or myself to get to it, or it costs more than we can afford. So I guess for now we’ll have to settle for dance parties with mom and dad, and occasionally the Wiggles (send help like, now) and the chance meetings with other kids in the park.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Frustrated With Our Options. Or Lack Thereof.

  1. Spencer and I did a music class (music together) that was similarly price. He really liked it but the instructor was flaky and we didn’t do a second term. He loves the cd that came with the class too.

  2. Suzanne says:

    My local baby store (that has now gone out of business) had the Kindermusik branded classes that cost – wait for it – $400 A SEMESTER. That was a once a week, one hour class for just a few months. I paid a lot of money for a lot of silly baby classes (infant massage anyone?) but that is RIDICULOUS. And they didn’t offer ANY classes that a working parent could have attended. Our only current option is story time at the library which I sort of feel like Evan is too….unfocused for. Sigh. I have no suggestions.

    • babyinbrooklyn says:

      You know what’s funny? I actually wrote this post on my blackberry on my way home from work tonight & emailed it to myself. The google ad that popped up was for a Music together class in Manhattan and I looked and it was $425 for eight freaking classes!!!!

  3. TMae says:

    This has stymied me since my kid was born. I want to find something regular for him to do that’s not in the morning. I’m not a morning person, and he is an early napper, so afternoons are what we’ve got. And you know what the infant/toddler world has in the afternoons? BUPKISS. Best I can figure “they” assume that the parents have older kid who are home from school in the afternoon, so mornings are the only times people show up? That, or most kids are afternoon nappers.

    I’m thinking about sucking it up and taking a baby signing class, money be damned. I can force him to stay awake and not fall asleep in the car on the way home so that he’s not a cranky sourpuss all afternoon, right?

    • babyinbrooklyn says:

      It’s funny that you mention nap time because I’m convinced this is why our afternoon playgroup fell apart. Ivy is also a morning / early afternoon napper but most of the other kids seem to be afternoon nappers. Also, I work in the morning and don’t get back to my ‘hood until later, so there’s that as well.

  4. Pingback: Baby It’s Cold Outside | A Baby Grows in Brooklyn

Leave a Reply

