A Message to You Ivy (On Your First Birthday)

Dear Ivy,

This weekend was your first birthday. I can’t believe it. I feel like it was just yesterday that I first got to look into your beautiful eyes. I can remember so well, the first time we laid eyes on each other. You barely cried, and I was kind of confused after having a surprise c-section, but there you were staring up at me while Bob Marley played in the background. You are such an old soul, I could tell from the first moment we met you. You have the wisest, knowing eyes and most of the time you are just taking everything around you in.

Becoming a parent has for sure been an intense experience. But I wouldn’t trade the past year of trials and tribulations for anything. Bringing you into this world gave me a completely new perspective on life. Things I used to worry about no longer concern me, and I now know that my only real concern is my family.

You delight us all the time with new things you learn, and your little sense of humor. It seems you are on the verge of forming sentences; there is some controversy about what your first word was (Dada? Mama? Cat?), but I would put my money on cat since there is no doubt that you know what it means. When frank or Stella come near you you delightedly yell out “Cat” and sometimes too will even point to pictures of cats in books and say it. Sometimes you still point to your father and say “Mamama” or yell “Dadada” when I walk into the room. Your dad and I are both going to have to watch our casual swearing because I’m sure you are starting to say something that resembles ‘Oh shit’.

You have this silly laugh which can best be described as sounding like a dirty old man, and boy do you love to laugh. And not just when we are intentionally trying to make you laugh, but when we do silly stuff on accident, like drop our keys, or when we tell jokes and all start to laugh, you join right in.

You’re not walking yet, though you are getting better at scootching around on your butt, and it’s only a matter of time before you put those little legs in motion.

You LOVE music and will clap your hands and dance along to all kinds, though your favorites at the moment are Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Lady Gaga, and that nursery rhyme DVD and CD your grandma gave you. But, like with food, your music tastes are diverse and you don’t discriminate, so you have also been known to rock out with Dad to Metallica, or with me to the Ramones, and there’s also that annoying Optimum triple Play commercial that you like the jingle too.

Just like with music, you have a really adventurous food palette for a 1 year old. Your favorite new foods seem to be shrimp, steak, and grilled zucchini, but that doesn’t mean you refuse the “boring but good for you” stuff like green beans and carrots.

You love going out places with mom & dad, and are (for the most part) very well behaved when we eat out. You also love the beach, and the park, and grandmas backyard.

You’re so amazing and special to your Dad and I, and I think he put it best when you were just a few months old and he said to you ‘You know Ivy your mom and I waited a long time to have a baby, and I’m glad we did because we got a really good one”.

All my love,

Mom

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Message to You Ivy (On Your First Birthday)

  1. riversquared says:

    Hey Holly! This blog was very touching and it’s beautiful to see such love between mother and daughter. I hope that little Ivy, you and Jon are having a wonderful and peaceful life full of love and happiness, you deserve all the best in the world! I miss you all, count on me being a regular reader 🙂

  2. Suzanne says:

    Happy birthday Ivy! You are such a beautiful and lucky girl to have such a wonderful mama!

Leave a Reply

