Twittertattour

A bunch of my blogging twitter mommy friends (what?) came up with the great idea to do a blog hop (see below) to show off our ink. So here’s mine. Good god it took along time as I’m pretty heavily tattooed. And I’m a day late to the party but better late than never. Right?

Now, a caveat here is that I am leaving out some of my really old crap not worthy ink. yes, yes I know even cruddy old ink is somehow a memory forever on my skin but I have alot to show here and sorry daisys on my ankle and un- discernible tramp stamp you do not deserve to tak up my time. So, we begin, at the beginning:

Photobucket
I got this when I was 16. My mom took me and signed the release. She was freaking out that she was a bad mother, we totally kept it secret from my dad (or he pretended not to notice), but while we were there this guy in the waiting area who was pretty much covered was telling my mom about how each one of his tattoos remind him of that particular time in his life and how this would always remind me of the special bond between me and her. And you know what he’s right! It was done by a guy names Butch in NJ. The shop is long gone and who knows what happened to Butch.

Now, in no particular order, the rest of my blog-worthy ink;
Photobucket

This is my left bicep. The lotus was done by Filip Leu in Lausanne Switzerland. We journeyed out there so Jon could get his backpiece done. If I ever finish this blog post, I will try to add it in a pic of his backpiece because it’s fucking awesome. The sea shell on the top is in progress (yes, it is covering something up) which is being done buy Michele Wortman and Guy Aitchison of Hyperspace Studios

Photobucket
This is underneath my left bicep, also a collaboration of Guy and Michele. I will now take this moment to say that this was the most painful tattoo I have yet to endure. The conch took a total of about 6 hours, and was worked on by two people. That means Guy started it, then Michele had a go. I then sat the very next day for another 5 hours to get the shell on my shoulder cap done (the one up there by the lotus), and some plumeria on the back of my shoulder, which you will see when we get to my back. As if dealing with the greatest tattoo pain I have ever dealt with in my life wasn’t enough, I sat down for more the very next day. And Guy even gave me props saying I was dealing with it really well considering I only had 2 beers and a couple of advil, not some crazy prescription painkillers. Yes, I am bragging about my high pain tolerance. It’s one of my favorite pieces so here’s another picture:
Photobucket

Photobucket
Next up, the right arm. That sun on the top is kind of one of those spur of the moment decisions I made when I was 20 that I wish I didn’t waste such a good spot on my body on, but there it is. The clouds and the birds were the very first tattoo I got when my husband Jon started tattooing. it was his 4th piece. It took forever and boy did it huuuurt. But at least he didn’t scar the shit out of me! Thanks hubs!

Photobucket
A few years later, I got this bird which is just below those clouds. It was right after September 11th, hence the dead bird falling out of the sky with the olive branch.

Photobucket
AT the bottom of my right forearm is my super hot mermaid. She was done by
Joe Capobianco and rules. Everyone warned me about getting ‘the pit’ of my elbow tattooed and how much it hurt, but it wasn’t so bad. At first I was a little concerned about the boobs on my arm. I got it just as I was realizing I needed to leave my current job and look for another one, but in the end I was like “F it, I have wanted a mermaid tattoo here for a long time and now I have a totally amazing artist to do it I am not gonna worry about this. And I didn’t and I love my mermaid and everything worked out fine in the end.
Photobucket
This is on top of my right wrist. I got it a loooong time ago (like 12 years) when I was in England with my sister. It was done by the guy named Adam at a shop in Brighton (I forgot the name of the shop). Later that night, I met my husband in a club. True Story!

Photobucket
Back of my right forearm
Photobucket
Back of my right forearm. These were done by an artist named Chickie who worked with Jon at Cutting Edge. They’re meant to represent life and death. Deep thoughts by Holly Lane.
Photobucket
This little guy is on my left wrist. I’m part of a club with this one. See one night while we were visiting family and friends in England, we came back to Jon’s parents house with a friend of his who didn’t have any tattoos yet. We had had a few too many at the pub (Kids, don’t try this at home). And the friend decided he should get a tattoo and we were all “Duuuude we’ll totally get whatever you get” and so we all got little oms on our wrists. yes, Jon tattooed himself. Since I was bit, er, tipsy for some reason this wrist tattoo, which took all of 2 minutes made me really woozy. Which is why you should not get tattooed drunk.
Photobucket
This tasty lobster on my right ankle was done a few years ago at the Philly tattoo convention by Bowery Stan Moskowitz, a real old time tattoo artist. He wore 2 pairs of glasses while he did it. We joked about getting a lemon wedge and a pat of butter next to it.
Photobucket
Back of my right ankle, done by Mike Swagart at Body Art World in point Pleasant NJ. It was actually also done at the Philly convention. He was offering traditional tattoos for traditional price. I couldn’t decide between the skull and the anchor and he was all “Why don’t you get the skull on the anchor” Duh!

Photobucket
Now on to my back, the Sagittarius chick and the Jupiter sign were done by Bugs while he was in London (I think he’s in LA now). The moon was done by Chops at Fly Rite Studio in Brooklyn. That big piece on my shoulder rules, but it hurt like a mo-fo and took about 5+ hours just for the girl and another 3 at a later session for the Jupiter glyph.

Photobucket
Here’s a closeup, plus there’s that aforementioned plumeria.

Photobucket
You’ve seen the rest, now here’s the best. Left side of my chest, done 5 (maybe 6) years ago by my husband Jon Jon I cannot say enough how much I LOVE this piece. My grandmother had peonies growing everywhere and they are one of my favorite flowers…so ruffly and delicate.

Photobucket
Right side of my chest, plumeria, also done by Jon. He’s come to be known for his flowers and his delicate style with them and I can proudly say this was the first piece of his in that style. It was inspired by a picture I took when we were on vacation in Tortola in the British Virgin Islands. These flowers grew all around the house we were staying in and they smell incredible and enerally remind me of being in the Carribbean, one of my favorite places on earth.

So there it is! You’ve now toured (most of) my ink! Thanks for sharing yours!!

It’s been way too long since I have gotten tattooed, and I have yet to get a tatt honoring my lovely daughter, whose name really lends itelf to something awesome!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Twittertattour

  1. Anonymous says:

    you forgot to say that your cuz got that lizard tattoo first. which mine is lookin kind of rough. damn. it’s almost 20 years old!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    gotta work on that arm!!
    sorry babe… we gotta do somthing about that right arm for ya!! if it wasn’t for you though… i wouldnt be who i am today (: luv ya babe….xox

  3. Anonymous says:

    Those flowers are gorgeous. They look really *new*!
    -Kristin
    urbanitemom.com

Leave a Reply

