Is this normal? Is this even POSSIBLE ?!?

My 13 day old baby slept for 5 and 1/2 hours last night. Let me repeat this so you know it is not a typo. 5 1/2 hours.

She was awake from about 10 pm – midnight, really alert and not at all having it when I tried to lay her down in the co-sleeper. She wasn’t even falling asleep in her bouncy chair! No amount of Beatles or Bob Marley lullabies would make her sleepy. It was really really hard to get her sleepy and when she finally started to drift around midnight, she was up 20 minutes later. Then, magically she fell sound asleep around 1 am.

I finally fell asleep too thinking I’d be up again in a few hours. Then I heard her fussing and noticed it was light outside. I figured it had to be around 5:30 and when I looked at the clock I had to do a double take. 6:30. 6:30!!!

According to everything I just read in my baby books and online I should wake her up every 4 hours at least to feed. Really? I mean, her usual sleep pattern does involve being up every 3-4 hours to eat, and during the day sometimes she’ll eat again in 2 hours. I hope I’m not ruining her appetite and or sleeping habits by letting her sleep once for 5 and 1/2 hours. Also, what those books and websites don’t know is that my 2 week old baby is the size of the average one month old.

I’m not going to loose sleep over this (literally!) but I guess I’ll mention it to her pediatrician. In the meantime I’m going to have a cup of tea and throw a party this morning to celebrate being well rested for the first time in 2 weeks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is this normal? Is this even POSSIBLE ?!?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Amazing!! But, really, I hate to say this, I mean, maybe it won’t happen to you, but, um…don’t get used to it. Babies love to make you think things are awesome just to lull you into a false sense of security. Next week she’ll be eating every 30 minutes and only sleeping from 9 am – 11:30 am. In the mean time, DON’T WAKE HER UP. Those baby books are full of shit.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Making my way over from Bebehblog….I like your baby. I was a good sleeper too; my brother had colic. But I doubt baby girls sleep more than boys in general. That seems too easy.
    Anyway, your wee one is adorable. Congratulations.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Holly,
    The first time Alex did this I freaked out. I was concerned that I should wake him up to feed him. His doc told me not to worry about it. That if he is sleeping let him sleep. He will let you know when he is hungry. You don’t have to keep them on a routine let them build their own. Perfectly normal! Congrats to you for getting some sleep!

Leave a Reply

