A Much Needed Day Out

Yesterday, after having a mini-breakdown in the morning (that’s a whole other post) I decided that, despite the fact the temperature wasn’t even going to pass the freezing point we were going out. I needed it, Ivy needed it, so it would be.

I decided to go to the Aquarium, since we have not yet been, and it’s pretty close (in Coney Island). I packed a bag, bundled us up, and got in the car. Of course, Ivy fell asleep in the car, so as we got closer I stopped in one of the ‘scenic view’ parking lots under the Verazano Bridge – which always makes me feel so Saturday Night Night Fever – and let her nap away while I did some emailing from my phone and cleaned out all the garbage from the passanger seat of the car. The Aquarium is only like 20 minutes away and she fell asleep 10 minutes in so I knew she needed to nap a while so that she wasn’t a cranky pants. So she woke up just as we were driving down Surf Ave. Of course being winter, parking was a piece of cake and we found a spot right in front of the Aquarium.

The Aquarium was really fun – Ivy wasn’t a huge fan of the seals and sea lions, even though we got to see them during their feeding / play time with the trainers. She was totally scared of the Sharks (I don’t blame her!) and shook her head no the whole time we were looking at them – even when I tried to show her the sea turtles that shared a tank with them. The part she really enjoyed was the huge fish tank in the center. We sat right in front of them, and once she got over thinking the fish were going to charge right into her she was laughing and pointing and yelling “More fish!!”. I really liked that they have a lot of little interactive things to do at toddler level, like a little wheel you can spin to show how a fishes tail moves and a little exhibit of fish and sea shell textures. She loved it so much we had to go through twice so she could say bye to all the fish.

After that, we went to the original Nathan’s


Amazingly it still sort of looks like this. Ivy had some chicken fingers and I had a hot dog with that red- onion sauce on it. It was nice to be there in the winter, mostly because in the summer it’s so insanely busy that you can’t even get near it let alone put in the time it would take you to get a hot dog.

We got home and were both in much better moods. Ivy slept like a champion. I’m considering buying a membership to the Wildlife Conservation Society which would give me free admission for 2 adults for the Aquarium, the Prospect park Zoo and the Bronx Zoo, as well as parking passes. It kind of seems like a win- win to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Much Needed Day Out

  1. That sounds like so much fun! I wish we had an aquarium close by. We have a zoo, but I would rather see the pretty fishies. Good job triumphing over the weather!

  2. TMae says:

    How FUN! I miss having a zoo and an aquarium nearby. I think we’re going to try to go to the National Zoo this summer, and maybe the Baltimore Aquarium, but those are both overnight trips. I’ll bet the fish tanks are really awesome for the kidlets.

Leave a Reply

