Confessions of a Potty Mouth

I may have blogged about this before, but I would like to tell you I am the worlds biggest potty mouth. I curse like a sailor. Anyone who has ever had a conversation with me knows this. I drop the F bomb like it’s a hot potato, even when it’s incredibly inappropriate.

There was a funny moment, about 6 months ago when my younger cousin, who’s 11, said to Jon “So I guess you guys are going to have to cut down on the casual swearing now that Ivy’s around” And really, he was right.

Because neither Jon or I curbed the cursing and now we face a kind of hilarious situation. One in which our 14 month old daughter cruises around the house saying “Oh Shit” clear as day. Sometimes she even says “oh shit. shit. shit. shit.”. She also seems to know the context of it because sometimes she’ll be playing, and drop something and say “oh shit”.

My mother in law suggested saying “Oh Dear” back to her when she curses, but that doesn’t seem to be doing the trick. I started saying “oh Yeah” back to her, since she can actually say yeah, but still no luck.

I’m not totally bent out of shape about it. After all, this is like an early warning system that means we better really curb our potty mouths before she goes to pre-school saying “What the fuck?” Although, it was a bit embarrassing today in the grocery store when she saw another little girl, waved to her and then said “Oh shit”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Confessions of a Potty Mouth

  1. Suzanne says:

    My kid totally says “shit” and also “Oh fuuuu” when he drops stuff. It was sort of hilarious until the other day when I caught myself saying “Shit!” and he said it straight back to me, no mistaking it or thinking it was just a coincidence. I don’t know WHY I thought I could get away with swearing right in front of him forever, but now is officially the time to stop. BEFORE he says “fuck” in front of my in-laws.

  2. TMae says:

    I totally worry about this. My husband and I both swear like the proverbial sailor. My kid’s not verbal yet, so I keep thinking, “We have time” but them I’m thinking, “Well, what if his first word is ‘fuck’?” I’m not sure I care if his first word is fuck, but I think the rest of the world might be horrified.

  3. emily bilbrey says:

    quite frankly i cannot believe that my 16-month old poppy hasn’t dropped any curse bombs yet – her daddy and i are FAR too casual (hell, ENTHUSIASTIC!) about our cursing. i have been trying to cut back since she turned one and started saying words regularly, but it’s tough. we’ll work on it together, ok? or… something…

    (;

    xoxo!

Leave a Reply

