Can I just vent for a moment? Then feel guilty for venting?!?

Jon broke his arm on Friday. I am not even going to type how it happened because it is so freakin stupid I will get really really mad and possibly smash the laptop. In fact I am going to cease thinking about it right now. It’s done, it happened and now he has a cast from his hand to his bicep.

So, in terms of baby care he is pretty much immobilized. I mean, he can’t even pick her up. He can hold her when I place her in his good arm and we’ve managed to devise a pillow system so he can feed her, but when it’s time for a burp, mommy takes over. And I also have to take over when it’s time to change a diaper or do pretty much anything involving her. She is, of course, such a darling that even when she’s pooping all over the changing table or spitting up all over my lap she’s a joy.

But. Back to the broken arm. This also renders any kind of housework impossible. He was able to cook dinner last night but I had to prep everything and of course, clean up.

So, to say that I am completely exhausted after only a day of this is an understatement. Lucky for me Ivy must have sensed this because she slept from 1:30 am to 6:45 am last night. I’m just incredibly grateful that I have a good network of family and friends close by to come and help me out. Because the Dr’s tell him his cast will be on for 4-8 weeks.

Which brings me to the part about feeling guilty for being so pissed about this situation. There are single moms out there who probably don’t have a great support system to help them with the baby. And what I have been doing over the past day or so they have to do every single day . When I let that sink in I feel like an ass for complaining. I mean, it’s hard work and I’m not trying to deny that but shit I only have to deal with this temporarily. And I have a sister 10 minutes away and a mom an hour away that I can call and they would be here in a flash. I couldn’t imagine doing this everyday with a new baby, not to mention well into her toddler years. So I would like to take this opportunity to give mad props to all the single moms out there and to be thankful for my strong support system.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can I just vent for a moment? Then feel guilty for venting?!?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Ouch!
    Hi Holly. I have off work for the next few days and I certainly can help out a bit. Call. Love ya, Dana

  2. Anonymous says:

    Broken arm
    Oh poor Jon! Sorry about his accident. I hope he gets his cast off sooner than the Dr. told him. Can he tattoo?
    You are a wonderful mother so you can handle the new situation. But then, Jill is close by as you said if you need a break.
    *A.L.

  3. tradbird says:

    been there…
    Derek broke his ankle just in time for Ruby to be a running mad toddler… We fought once, and I yelled, “I am a goddamn single mother!” Yah I had to apologize for that.
    Don’t feel guilty, it is totally a PAIN IN THE ASS to have to been without a 100% functioning partner. You are allowed to complain!!!
    -Alaina

Leave a Reply

